Browse Prior Art Database

User Notification of Outgoing Note Repository

IP.com Disclosure Number: IPCOM000102940D
Original Publication Date: 1990-Apr-01
Included in the Prior Art Database: 2005-Mar-17
Document File: 1 page(s) / 41K

Publishing Venue

IBM

Related People

Landry, GJ: AUTHOR

Abstract

This article describes a method for notifying the user of which repository the note processing system has placed the user's outgoing note. Note processing systems assume a default repository for safekeeping outgoing notes. These systems also provide a command or reserved field to override the default repository. This allows the user to choose a different repository or to cancel saving the note in any repository. Once the note is sent, the system places the note where instructed and assumes the sender remembers. For this invention, the information which instructs the system is saved for subsequent display to the user sending the note.

This text was extracted from an ASCII text file.
This is the abbreviated version, containing approximately 95% of the total text.

User Notification of Outgoing Note Repository

      This article describes a method for notifying the user of which
repository the note processing system has placed the user's outgoing
note.  Note processing systems assume a default repository for
safekeeping outgoing notes.  These systems also provide a command or
reserved field to override the default repository.  This allows the
user to choose a different repository or to cancel saving the note in
any repository.  Once the note is sent, the system places the note
where instructed and assumes the sender remembers.  For this
invention, the information which instructs the system is saved for
subsequent display to the user sending the note.

      The note processor initializes a user message with the default
repository named.  During processing, if the user specifies a
repository either by command or by placing a repository name in the
reserved field, this repository name overlays the default repository
name in the user message. If the user specifies that the message is
not to be saved, the user message is replaced with an alternate user
message which states that the note has not been saved.  When note
processing is complete and the note has been sent, the note
processing system displays the user message.

      This notification simplifies location of misfiled notes,
allowing the user to verify, at note send time, which repository the
note has been placed into.  Users are then able to manage note
reposi...