Dismiss
InnovationQ will be updated on Sunday, Oct. 22, from 10am ET - noon. You may experience brief service interruptions during that time.
Browse Prior Art Database

Technique For Requiring Users To View Documentation Prior To Opening A Lotus Notes Database

IP.com Disclosure Number: IPCOM000125966D
Original Publication Date: 2005-Jun-26
Included in the Prior Art Database: 2005-Jun-26
Document File: 4 page(s) / 39K

Publishing Venue

IBM

Abstract

A method of automated communication with all/some users of an application with the option to record acknowledgment. Information associated with a business role is presented to those user(s) prior to entry into the database. Additionally, user access can be restricted until acknowledgment is recorded. This invention allows for quick and effective communication to the users without the need to send/receive large quantities of e-mails.

This text was extracted from a PDF file.
This is the abbreviated version, containing approximately 33% of the total text.

Page 1 of 4

Technique For Requiring Users To View Documentation Prior To Opening A Lotus Notes Database

Disclosed is a method for allowing the Administrator group of users to create documentation for review by the main users of the database. There are two types of documents that can be created: Alert and Training. The Alert documents are informational messages for the users and are not required reading, but the Training documents are important information, that must be read. The users of the database are required to indicate that they have read and understand the Training documents before working with the database. This invention would allow an application owner the ability to provide control and auditability of the users, according to their business process role. The creation of Alert documents allows the owner/administrator to quickly notify all or some users, based on Role, of pertinent information.

Problem Being Solved

Need a way to force all or some users of a Lotus Notes database to be exposed to Alert and/or Training documentation at any given time, and to prevent the users from continuing to use the database until they have acknowledged that they have read the Training document(s). These Alert/Training documents could contain pertinent information that the owner of the application needs to communicate immediately to all or some users before they continue to use the application (i.e. some business process change).

This invention allows the Administrator group of users, identified by their Role, authorization to create, update and delete Alert and/or Training documents. Each document is created for a specific group of users, identified by a Role (see Figure 1). Only users associated with the assigned Role will be shown those documents. The assumption is made that users are associated with a single Role. Additional customization can allow for users associated with multiple roles to see multiple sets of documents (see Figure 2). Also, customization can be added to allow separate sets of users, associated by different Roles, to see the same set of documents; this would prevent the need for creating duplicate sets of documents for multiple Roles (see Figure


3).

Figure 1:

User Role(s) Alert/Training documents Peter [SalesRep] Would only see docs assigned to Sales Reps Smith [ES-Advocates] Would only see docs assigned to ES Advocates Jones [GeoMktgRep] Would only see docs assigned to Geo Marketing Reps

Figure 2:

User Role(s) Alert/Training documents Peter [SalesRep], [ES-Advocate] Would see docs assigned to Sales Reps and docs assigned to ES Advocates

1

Page 2 of 4

Smith [SalesRep] Would only see docs assigned to Sales Reps Jones [ES-Advocates] Would only see docs assigned to ES Advocates

Figure 3:

User Role(s) Alert/Training documents Peter [SalesRep] Would only see docs assigned to Sales Reps Smith [ES-Advocate] Would only see the single set of docs assigned to both ES Advocates and Geo Marketing Reps Jones [GeoMktgRep] Would only see the s...