Browse Prior Art Database

Enterprise Data Security: Automatically wipe application accounts after a specified period of days of no sync from a mobile device

IP.com Disclosure Number: IPCOM000238053D
Publication Date: 2014-Jul-29
Document File: 2 page(s) / 83K

Publishing Venue

The IP.com Prior Art Database

Abstract

The idea described herein is to automatically delete a corporate account after a specified period of time to avoid corporate data landing in the wrong hands. That is if a device is not on the internet for a predetermined number of days, an application will automatically wipe the corporate account from the device. This will eliminate the enterprise data, thereby preserving the integrity of said data.

This text was extracted from a PDF file.
This is the abbreviated version, containing approximately 48% of the total text.

Page 01 of 2

Enterprise Data Security: Automatically wipe application accounts after a specified  period of days of no sync from a mobile device 

 

At times, it is essential to remove the corporate data and account from a device. For example, it  would be necessary in the following scenarios: 
 

● (1) A user loses their device and reports this to their administrator, but the device never  comes back in any WiFi or data connection network. Thus, any wipe commands  executed by the administrator will not work. 

● (2) A user loses the device and does not report the event to the domain administrators.  Thus, the administrators are under the impression that the device is in the hands of the  rightful user when this is not the case. 

● (3) A user obtains a new device and forgets to wipe/remove their account and data from  their old device. The old device, however, never connects back to the network and so a  remote wipe is not possible.  

 

A study of on this issue revealed that only about 35% of all wipe commands are successful. The  data remains on the other 65% of devices and may be accessible to unauthorized individuals.  Many domains do not ask for complex passwords on their user devices and this makes the  device vulnerable to unauthorized users obtaining existing data. Simple investigation reveals that  it takes about 5 to 10 days for a stolen device to enter into the black market. Therefore before it  gets into the wrong hands, the corporate account on the device should be deleted to make  enterprise data more secure. This will not delete data from the whole device, but rather it will be  delete only corporate data. If this is a false positive (i.e. the user is still in possession of their  device), the user can simply re­add their account on the device to retrieve their data.  
 
The idea described herein is to automatically delete a corporate account after a specified period  of time to avoid corporate data landing in the wrong hands. That is if a device is not on the  internet for a predetermined number of days, an application will automatically wipe the corporate  account from the device. This will eliminate the enterprise data, thereby preserving the integrity  of said data. In addition, other device data (e.g. email, calendar, documents, etc.,) will be deleted  from the device. This data, however, will not be deleted from the cloud or any remote server. The  application that will execute this wipe will send warning notifications to the end user, so that if he  or she is the genuine user he or she can a...