Browse Prior Art Database

X Window System Protocol, version 11: Alpha update April 1987 (RFC1013) Disclosure Number: IPCOM000001817D
Original Publication Date: 1987-Jun-01
Included in the Prior Art Database: 2000-Sep-12

Publishing Venue

Internet Society Requests For Comment (RFCs)

Related People

R.W. Scheifler: AUTHOR


Status of this Memo

This text was extracted from a ASCII document.
This is the abbreviated version, containing approximately 1% of the total text.

Network Working Group Robert W. Scheifler

Request for Comments: 1013 June 1987


Alpha Update

April 1987

Copyright (c) 1986, 1987 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

X Window System is a trademark of M.I.T.

Status of this Memo

This RFC is distributed to the Internet community for information

only. It does not establish an Internet standard. The X window

system has been widely reviewed and tested. The internet community

is encouraged to experiment with it. Distribution of this memo is

unlimited (see copyright notice on page 2).

Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this document for any

purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above

copyright notice appear in all copies and that both that copyright

notice and this permission notice are retained, and that the name of

M.I.T. not be used in advertising or publicity pertaining to this

document without specific, written prior permission. M.I.T. makes no

representations about the suitability of this document or the

protocol defined in this document for any purpose. It is provided

"as is" without express or implied warranty.

Author: Robert W. Scheifler

Laboratory for Computer Science

545 Technology Square, Room 418

Cambridge, MA 02139


Dave Carver (Digital HPW)

Branko Gerovac (Digital HPW)

Jim Gettys (MIT/Project Athena, Digital)

Phil Karlton (Digital WSL)

Scott McGregor (Digital SSG)

Ram Rao (Digital UEG)

David Rosenthal (Sun)

Dave Winchell (Digital UEG)

Implementors of initial server who provided useful input:

Susan Angebranndt (Digital)

Raymond Drewry (Digital)

Todd Newman (Digital)

Invited reviewers who provided useful input:

Andrew Cherenson (Berkeley)

Burns Fisher (Digital)

Dan Garfinkel (HP)

Leo Hourvitz (Next)

Brock Krizan (HP)

David Laidlaw (Stellar)

Dave Mellinger (Interleaf)

Ron Newman (MIT)

John Ousterhout (Berkeley)

Andrew Palay (ITC CMU)

Ralph Swick (MIT)

Craig Taylor (Sun)

Jeffery Vroom (Stellar)

This document does not attempt to provide the rationale or pragmatics

required to fully understand the protocol or to place it ...